To: Trading Standards Institute

Labelling on alcoholic drinks

Labelling on alcoholic drinks

Clearly label whether alcoholic beverages are suitable for particular dietary and lifestyle choices/requirements (e.g. vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, etc.) on the bottle/can.

Why is this important?

The other night I enjoyed a very nice glass of port with some cheese and crackers. After I had finished the port, my daughter discovered that not all ports are suitable for my vegetarian lifestyle, and in fact this particular one may well have contained gelatin. The wave of guilt that passed over me was immense, knowing I had accidentally betrayed my morals and consumed an animal product. To this end, I ask that it to be made law that the manufacturers/distributors of all alcoholic beverages must clearly label whether the product is suitable for vegans, vegetarians, kosher, etc., or perhaps more to the point, these products should all have these logos on their labels, but they should have a clear and unambiguous line through them if they do not apply.

Category